OpenOffice word completion

I was thrilled to discover OpenOffice, specifically Writer. I was stunned when I went into the language options and discovered that Writer had built word completion capability into the program. It is refreshable, meaning that you have to load pre-existing documents first and then close them, which puts all the words into memory so Writer can predict them in your new document. Its threshold is 10,000 words, and the minimum for how long a word has to be for Writer to predict it is five letters. Writer offers a choice after typing the third letter. Its choices are single and alphabetical, so that if you have words alphabetically close together you continue typing until you reach the one you want, then press enter. The program also automatically inserts a space after the word if you choose.

To activate word completion:

  • Tools
  • AutoCorrect
  • Word Completion
  • Enable word completion
  • Append space (optional)
  • Collect words — when closing a document, save the list for later use with other documents
This entry was posted in Disability, Technology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to OpenOffice word completion

  1. j says:

    Word completion is F’ing annoying! I finally figured out how to turn it off! Thank god!

  2. hand2mouth says:

    While I found it useful while it lasted (I use Jarte Plus or Word and a separate word completion program now instead of OpenOffice), I’m glad it is no longer bugging you. 🙂

  3. Steve says:

    Really like your blog. I found it doing a google search looking for ways to add masses of words to the autocompletion in OO writer. Your answer was what I needed. I like the idea of hand to mouth Assistive Technology. A lot of people don’t have the funds for expensive AT.

  4. hand2mouth says:

    Thanks!

  5. Joseph Nast says:

    Hi, I’m an Assistive Technology (AT) Coordinator at a Community College in Houston, Texas. I really enjoy your blog; it’s invaluable to have thoughtful insight and informative software\hardware evaluations from someone who uses AT constantly. Your blog is permanently on my Favorites list :).

    I have a client who broke his Text-to-Speech device recently, which I’m told may take more than 3 months to repair. To communicate with his instructors and classmates now, he types in MS Word 2007. Due to his physical disabilities, he depends heavily on word prediction\completion… which is absent in Word 2007 altogether, as you know.

    I’ve been casting about looking for a low cost or no cost solution, and came upon your post about Open Office. I’m testing it out now, and even though OO uses word completion (not prediction), I’m hoping it will fit the bill for him until his device is repaired.

    FYI, here’s a link to some simple word lists that I used to populate the Word Completion library in OO. It was a simple matter of cutting and pasting, and I didn’t have to mess around with editing apart from taking out bullets. I know you’re all over it, but I thought it might be useful for your readers.

    http://www.manythings.org/vocabulary/lists/l/

    BTW… you’re making a huge difference in the lives of a lot of people. I hope you can continue to do this for a long time. Thank you.

  6. hand2mouth says:

    I hope it works for him and he gets his device back quickly. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

