Restart Dragon vocally: Vocola

To use certain memory intensive programs, I not only have to end unnecessary processes, but also temporarily turn off the functions in Dragon I don’t need for that particular program. (I’ll go into this more when I talk about using Visual C++ for my programming homework.) For example, I disable the HTML commands if the memory sucker doesn’t require the internet. When I’m done, I enable them again. The unfortunate side effect is that Dragon requires a restart for the change to take effect. For some stupid reason, there’s no native restart command (in Preferred, anyway). This can be a problem if you’re totally voice dependent. Thus a Vocola command:

Dragon restart = HeardWord(close, naturally, speaking) Wait(7000) AppBringUp (“C:\Program Files\Nuance\NaturallySpeaking10\Program\natspeak.exe”);

Note that even if you have set the microphone to start asleep (yellow), it may remain green as the restart command executes.

This entry was posted in Disability, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Restart Dragon vocally: Vocola

  1. Bruce Couper says:

    Thanks for this. I’m a long-time NaturallySpeaking user. My degree of disability means everything must be hands-free. Google found your useful tip for me.

    Kindest regards

  2. hand2mouth says:

    You’re welcome!

  3. Carol Purington says:

    Where can I find a basic explanation of how Vocola works with NaturallySpeaking?

  4. hand2mouth says:

    There’s a pretty good language tutorial at Vocola.net. Hope it helps!

Leave a Reply

