Maintenance: Vocola

Something ugly happened to my installation of Vocola, which made me reinstall Dragon to be on the safe side. There is a stable version of Vocola up, but I haven’t yet reinstalled it. I want to wait until the Dragon 11.5 upgrade becomes available shortly. It’s possible that the upgrade will have at least fixed the milder bugs, like the backspace and dash, so that Vocola might not be necessary for those. I don’t think Nuance will have done anything to the mouse commands, though, so I’m still figuring out whether I can make them continuous.

This entry was posted in Disability, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maintenance: Vocola

  1. Carol Purington says:

    I’ve used Dragon speech-recognition technology since the 1990s, and last summer I upgraded to Version 11 as soon as it was available. For various reasons I switched from Outlook Express to Gmail at the same time. I really like some Gmail features, but it is not Dragon-friendly. Using it is just too wearing on my “good” left arm that I use for doing supplemental stuff with a trackball.

    Microsoft Outlook is installed on my computer but it locks up very frequently. Is this because of incompatibility with Dragon? You have a couple of postings about using Gmail with Dragon 10, but you have any advice about using it with a Version 11? Or do you recommend I try Thunderbird Mozilla?

    Any advice you can give would be greatly appreciated. I am not tech-savvy and rely on my sister-in-law, who is knowledgeable and willing, and can help me understand and implement new ideas.

    Thanks!

    Carol Purington

  2. hand2mouth says:

    Hi,
    I don’t use Microsoft Outlook so I don’t know for certain, but I know Microsoft programs tend to be pretty large, as is Dragon. It might be that 2 large programs trying to work at the same time are slowing things down.

    I’ve been using Thunderbird instead of Gmail for quite awhile now. That way I don’t have to worry about Google becoming even more inaccessible. I can control Thunderbird by speaking toolbar buttons or names of sidebar folders or saying keyboard shortcuts, and for writing I either copy and paste from Jarte (my word processor) or just use the Dictation Box. If you right-click the Thunderbird toolbar and say “customize,” you can drag more buttons on so you’ll have more shortcuts. Dragon 11 has some more commands for Thunderbird built in; if you go into Thunderbird and ask “what can I say”, you’ll get a short list of commands related to sending or reading e-mail. I should update my Thunderbird posts to reflect the new commands Nuance has added; thank you for reminding me. 🙂 ADDED: Okay, I keep trying to link my Thunderbird posts and it’s not working. Dang it, WordPress. Let’s try this one more time.

Leave a Reply

