Millennial forearm crutch update

So it’s been about a year since I got my stick, and I’ve been using it heavily on concrete for the last half. Overall, I’m pleased with the way it’s held up.

The cuff and grip are fine, and the Tornado is worn down on the heel side and faded at the toe, but still has some tread on it. (I will be changing it around November if not sooner, though, in preparation for the coming weather.) The spring is working well, even after I got caught in walking through a downpour or several.

The only noticeable changes are in the paint; it’s a bit chewed near the tip in front, likely from scraping against uneven drops or weather-and-root-or-bad-design-created “steps” in the sidewalks. There are faint powdery rings in the paint by the collets for the leg and cuff tubes; I suspect that will only be noticeable (and barely at that) when I wear my boots, since I adjust upward by 1 inch. Even if the collets are tapping on the paint, I don’t think they can dent the metal. If I’ve created any nicks or scratches by falling, I can’t tell. (Though we’ll see what happens when I’m walking after heavy winter weather! Maybe I’ll get tube socks.)

A quick note on cuff sizes, particularly if you don’t have a lot of forearm flesh: my default setup is the small 3 inch cuff, covered with a half-inch of Crutcheze padding. I had kept the original 4 inch cuff because I thought I would need it in order to wear the crutch over my winter coat. Fortunately for me, it turned out I can keep the 3 inch cuff on; all I have to do is remove the padding. If I need it, depending on how thick my winter clothes are, I just put the padding back on once I’ve taken off my coat.

This entry was posted in Disability, Technology and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Millennial forearm crutch update

  1. Elisabeth says:

    Glad to hear that they’re holding up so well- and I love some of those tube socks! I thought you had mentioned grip pads, or did you use the gloves instead?

  2. hand2mouth says:

    Gloves. I wasted a bit of money trying to find covers that would fit anatomical crutch grips; they could likely be sewn if one had tools or ability, but no one seems to be doing so commercially. I came really close with something from Glanmor in the UK, but the main problem was that I couldn’t fasten it because it went around the back of the crutch post itself. The whole thing was neoprene, which was not the problem except that the fastening wasn’t Velcro –it had flaps that snapped. The snap flap was also neoprene, which meant it was elastic. So once I’d gotten the cover over the grip, I had a hell of a time trying to pin down one end of the closure while trying to stretch the other end over and press the snap down at the same time, all over slippery paint. I kept losing the snap end, which kept stretching back to its original position. Long story short: you need two hands, most likely.

    But now that I think about it, even if I could have fastened it, it might still have been uncomfortable barehanded; the seam was very thick and directly under the web of my thumb and first finger. The padding, too, was thick enough that it might have disrupted the shape of my grasp altogether. Perhaps I should learn to sew? 🙂

Leave a Reply

